RSS

USA: THE GOOD PARTS

26 May

Things I love about the USA.

Well, I should caveat this. It should be more like things I love about California.. specifically San Francisco and San Jose area.

  1. The food. Cannot reiterate enough how much I love American food. It’s actually cheaper compared to Western food in Shanghai (which is extraordinarily expensive) and the range of cuisines are awesome – excellent Vietnamese, Japanese, Korean, Mexican, Peruvian, the list goes on and on. And of course, the American cuisine itself – bring on the luscious juicy burgers, fabulous pizzas, and decadent desserts!! I am also addicted to Southern Fried Chicken, one of the best things ever. And of course, Cinnabon, the love of my life. I would likely be the size of a house if I lived in the States, because it’s simply not physically possible to stop eating.

    Fried prawns, garlic fries and rootbeer at Lori’s Diner
    in the airport before my flight back to Shanghai

  2. The shopping. Way way way way way cheaper than in China. Which surprises most people when I tell them. Of course, clothes are cheaper if you want the sloppily made, crap kind. But if you want high quality, and Western brand names, it’s eye-poppingly more expensive. That’s why you often see Chinese tourists going bonkers at Louis Vuitton, Chanel, etc when they’re overseas :P Everything is so accessible in the USA, and it was a dream being able to actually purchase stuff I see in magazines, since it actually exists in the country. I simply ADORE Banana Republic! And virtually every store in every mall in the US. Thus I went a leeeetle psychotic buying stuff….. *ahem*…

    SHOPPING!! It filled the whole bed and wouldn’t fit into my luggage… oops…
    It also took a massive chunk outta my bank account but it was WORTH IT :)

  3. The courtesy. It was like reverse culture shock. I was surprised and delighted with how polite people are. If they cut in front of you, even if they’re not that close, they go “Excuse me!” like it’s the most natural thing to say. Absolutely ZERO shoving and certainly no spitting at my feet. No littering, always smiling, and constantly a “thank you” if I hold the door for them after I walk through. I’ve missed simple civilities so much it made me want to cry.
 
Leave a comment

Posted by on 26 May 2010 (Wed) in San Jose, Uncategorized

 

Comment

 
