RSS

CHINESE RESTAURANT ON HUBEI ROAD

27 Apr

My colleagues took me to a very traditional Chinese restaurant, where I tried almost every dish for the first time in my life. Nothing like a food adventure, right? :P The restaurant’s got a Chinese name (no English translation), and everyone there speaks nary a word of English. To me, that means AUTHENTIC, so I was raring to go. I thought the food was not bad at all. I wouldn’t consider it amazing, but it was still pretty good. Anyone know what region of China this food is from?

San Jin Xiao Chu – that’s the Chinese name of the restaurant

This cold spicy noodles. It was awesome!

Strange cold smoked duck/goose or something.. a bit weird and way too salty

Stir-fried cabbage. Looks & sounds bleh, but it was really good

Braised eggplant. Very nice.

Sizzling hot pot chicken. Lovely but hated the bones

A bit like peking duck pancakes, but using pork instead. It was average.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on 27 April 2009 (Mon) in Shanghai food reviews, Uncategorized

 

Comment

 
