RSS

HOMEMADE CHOCOLATE CHIP COOKIES

24 Apr

Decided to make Chocolate Chip Cookies (the soft kind, of course) on a whim, since I had some ingredients lying around in the fridge and I felt like baking. We’re now cooking/baking less than we used to in Australia.. mainly because, um, we’re lazy. Right outside the apartment is a food street – in particular our favourite place is this small Chinese joint (though to this day, we still don’t know its name!) that serves up THE BEST FOOD. Brilliant Chinese home-style dishes, and their menu is never-ending. They kind of know us know – as the couple that visits about 3x a week, and always asking “Sooooo what’s the best dish?” in Chinese :P Oh, and most importantly – they are CHEAP. The 2 of us have a full meal (plus drinks) for under US$5.00. How brilliant is that?!

So now I mostly bake.. mainly because it’s hard (or impossible) to find the stuff that we make. Like the maple syrup cupcakes I made on the TV show or an oreo cheesecake, etc. Choc chip cookies are another hard find. Or rather, I’m really particular – I don’t want them too sugary, and I like the moist and soft. Basically, it translates to fresh-out-of-the-oven cookies – nothing beats ’em!

So I whipped these up one night and they were a bit of a hit at the office too – though I realise that in the Shanghai office, only about 50% of the people like Western-style desserts. Or rather, not everyone has a sweet tooth. Very different to the Australia office, where everyone clambered for the goodies :P Anyway, I’m gonna bake more from now on and convert everyone in the office into crazy sugar-hungry people like myself. Heh!

Place 120g butter and 1.25 cup brown sugar in a bowl and beat until light & creamy

Add 1tsp vanilla essence and 1 egg

Sift in 1.5 cup plain flour, 1/2 tsp baking powder and pinch of salt salt. Stir until just combined

Add 1 – 1.5 cups chocolate chips

Place in oven for about 15 mins at 180 celcius for
moist, slightly-chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies!

Chris: “Every time I eat one of your cookies I wanna have children with you”
I’m taking that as a compliment :P

OK slightly random, but found a pic I took of me chowing down on cupcakes!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on 24 April 2009 (Fri) in Food, My recipes, Uncategorized

 

Comment

 
